AA Inter 3


Progress by nikademl
February 20, 2015, 10:06 am
Filed under: 2013-14

Nannette and Ricardo,

Recalling on what the jurors has told me on Monday I focused on the idea of ‘Terraforma’ as it has been something very important in my concept previously, which got a little bit lost later and I thought that if I manage to bring the idea back I would break from using the fishing village and tsunami as the only components that define my project. Therefore, I have done research into various ways of terraforming and by especially focusing on looking at more ‘permanent’ and more ‘fixed’ techniques. I also wanted to push myself to work on showing my research as that has been a problem.

In the first sheet, I am looking at various terraforming techniques from across cultures and times. I always pin point key concepts from each one. Then the other two sheets are focusing on permanent vs temporary (man-made vs nature made) terraforming where first is using a large platform structure such as the oil drilling platforms and the second if a mangrove forest which are placed in the beginning of beaches. I found the idea of mangrove forest from my research into tsunami prevention. It has a lot of environmental advantages – strengthens soil, improvements ecosystem, traps carbon.

Need to do sketches on the progressed design but I imagine it now more as a bridge from the sea (where the village would be) to the train station. So I would have several specific moments in my design: village on water, bridge, market underneath, connection to train station.

thank you

research 1 research2 research3

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the post Dominika,

It is important to listen to comments on the jury, but it is also equally important not to change your approach at the slightest critic. There needs to be a dialogue between what you proposed for the crit and how concepts of dealing with sea/land comes in as base research to challenge ways of working.

The ideas of thresholds between sea and land through a project who aims to defies the occupation of the shore with a light and delicate, but responsive architecture seems a great approach. If the language of the design needs to evolve and how such ‘lightness’ involves dealing with social and technological process of water/land/innovation (where perhaps terraforma is part of the research), fine. But we need to see more than sheets of Google research and diagrams. We would suggest to draw the site in plan including the project, social agents, relevant sea elements and time relationship. Use drawings as cumulative tools to explore the subject. References are more for your own information.

Here is a project from one of our ex-students Jonas Braoude in France dealing with mangrove deforestation and sea conditions including social and technological sensibilities:

http://digital-distorsion.blogspot.co.uk/p/blog-page.html

There is a great latent proposal here, but first it needs to be drawn as a method of research.

We look forward to see you and your work tomorrow.
Good luck!

Comment by tutor




Leave a Reply

